BOOK REVIEW: The Five Stages of Falling in Love by Rachel Higginson


Elizabeth Carlson is living in the pits of hell- also known as grief. Her husband of eight years, the father of her four children and the love of her life, died from cancer. Grady’s prognosis was grim, even from the start, but Liz never gave up hope he would survive. How could she, when he was everything to her? Six months later, she is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life and get the kids to school on time. Both seem impossible. Everything seems impossible these days. When Ben Tyler moves in next door, she is drowning in sorrow and pain, her children are acting out, and the house is falling apart. She has no time for curious new friends or unwanted help, but Ben gives her both. And he doesn’t just want to help her with yard work or cleaning the gutters. Ben wants more from Liz. More than she’s capable of ever giving again. As Liz mourns her dead husband and works her way through the five stages of grief, she finds there’s more of her heart to give than she thought possible. And as new love takes hold, she peels away the guilt and heartache, and discovers there’s more to life than death. 

My Review:

I want to tell you a story. It will be a little lengthy, but worth it. Now, I’ve told this a million times, but I never tire of it.

I had the pleasure of reading Rachel Higginson way back in the day (of 2011/2012). I read her debut novel, Reckless Magic, and instantly fell in love with Kiran. (Now, he’s mine, so back off ladies.) However, the funny part of this story—and why I love to tell it so much—is because of book two, which is Hopeless Magic. At the end of that book, I broke my kindle because I was so mad at Kiran and the cliffhanger I slammed it on my counter.

It was a sad day for me. Not only because of my kindle, but because of Rachel. She ruined Kiran. R-U-I-N-E-D!! 

Oh, I don’t think I had ever been mad at an author before; however, that’s one reason why I love her so much. She’s so good that you go through ever emotion! (BRILLANT!) Needless to say, the rest of that series can’t be measured in all the EPICNESS of the world!

Now, I love Rachel and I can call her friend—which is an honor for me. However, it’s her stories that keep pulling me back to her. It’s not only the Star-Crossed Series (which is still my fave!), or the zombies, but it this story.

The Five Stages of Falling in Love is by far the greatest book I’ve read from Rachel. I’m going to my best to put it into words and PRAY that I do it justice.

Liz is in love with one man, Grady. He’s her husband, best friend—well, soul mate is the best way to say it. But, as life can seem perfect Karma (that evil B****) is always lurking around and Grady is stricken with cancer. Liz never thought that she would be a widow. (This isn’t a spoiler is in the blurb). Now, she has to continue life with alone and try to be strong for her four children.

As it all seems to building around her, Ben—her new neighbor—pops into her life. Now, I’m sure you’re thinking, “Oh I know where this is going.” … NO YOU DON’T!!!

This book made me laugh, CRY—a lot of tears—and, above all LOVE. I don’t know how Rachel does it. I absolutely LOVE Liz and Ben.
Let’s be honest for a moment…had I read this book ten years ago I may not have all these feelings. However, I’m married to my soul mate, and reading this book it got me thinking of the ‘what if’ and such. What if something happened to my husband? What would I do? Could I ever love again? As I turn the pages of Liz’s story I felt all her pain, denial of Ben and her life, the hurt of Grady not being there and the process of all her life happenings.

Bravo Rachel!

I mean that from the bottom of my book nerd soul! This is a masterpiece and I can’t wait to share it with everyone to read!  


Popular posts from this blog

The Lush and the Angel (New Hampshire Bears 10)

KU Author Bullying, I've had enough!